To Walk At Night

Leaving my house
to walk the streets that built me.
Clenching my hands tight
to keep the warmth in
as the wind and water rush
past in anger.
I stomp my feet
against the concrete,
leaving footprints that will disappear
into nothing–
just like the past I’ve left behind.
I can never erase the memories,
but I leave what I have done
to drown from its lone lung.
So, before I leave myself
out onto the frigid ice as prey,
I look for a breath of life
to see visions that lead me
from my legs to my heart.
I stand out over the edge
deciding whether to fly or die,
ending up strangling my shadow
in the alleyway where
I had thrown my heart away.

Leave a Reply

